Shazam Farm

 

As a pioneering organic farm, Shazam Farm has always been a place

where new ideas are shared, discussed, and often put to the test. It’s an

environment where people of various cultures come to visit, exchange,

work, or hang out, play music and experience country living at its best.

Shazam Farm is also home to one of Canada’s most eclectic and original

summer festivals: ShazamFest, was born in 2006 under the direction of

Ziv Przytyk with the help of his brother Sasha.

 

From a mixed Polish/Canadian background, the young Przytyks grew up

on this family farm tucked in the hills of the Eastern Townships, a

beautiful area rich in both official cultures. Growing small crops and

selling produce at the local market were part of their summer activities;

early ventures included growing a variety of vegetables, berries, and herbs,

not to mention blue potatoes. Later, both brothers left to study and work

in far-off places including Western Canada and Poland, returning

whenever possible to visit their close-knit family.

 

Cultivating Diversity

While abroad, the brothers became increasingly active musically as Deejays and promoters, picking up on artists and trends, all the while pursuing other careers in agriculture. However, their hearts remained in the Townships of Quebec – as both brothers eventually returned to the area, in rapid succession, complete with their own young families and worldly experiences. They had no trouble picking up where they left off in the community, having a new appreciation for the area, but they had a new ambition: to cultivate culture itself… or specifically, to throw a really good party.

 

The idea was to create a festival that would showcase local and international talent, while including a wide variety of original musical and theatrical acts; an event where people of all ages could come to enjoy a weekend of music and circus in a lively outdoor setting.  The family farm was a hands-down choice for the future festival’s location, not least because of its hidden jewel: an idyllic natural area within a short hike of the homestead, now simply known as The Site.

 

Discover the Festival Site

As you walk down the tree-lined path from the camping area and suddenly find yourself descending into the hidden clearing that host our gathering, you’ll realize that this unique site is an integral part of the whole experience. A lush hidden valley bounded by woods, a brook and natural springs, the festival site has evolved into a tiny village over the past four years, thanks to the help of numerous volunteers. Using local materials and sweat, several seasonal structures were erected: the massive Main Stage, rustic Shazam

Bar-Saloon including a smaller second stage, skateboard ramp complex, a gourmet Organic Kitchen, and the Shazam Burger hut, all plugged into the site’s spring water system, on tap for your free enjoyment.

Since our family relocated to Shazam Farm in the early 1980s, we have used this site variously as a venue for soccer games, tepee camping, summer parties and even small concerts. But the festival site at Shazam Farm has an interesting history of its own that begins long before our era. This wonderful natural amphitheater bordering the Niger river on a corner of the farm was in fact used by the area’s First Nations peoples long ago.

Reviving a Lost Tradition – and Starting New Ones

An Abenaki elder once visited Shazam Farm and taught us that this same location was used as a summer gathering place by generations of his people. This was a place where several ancient footpaths intersected. Of course this revelation made a lot of sense to us, now more than ever. We would like to honour this old tradition of crossing paths, as we gather with friends both old and new to camp out, feast and enjoy an open-air musical and visual extravaganza.

 

Shazam Farm’s vision of biodiversity dictates that our event be run in a sustainable manner, making use of locally available food and resources, in a cooperative effort to generate little waste and keep the site and its surroundings unspoiled for future gatherings. In fact, we believe that far from alienating our neighbours and community, an event like ShazamFest can really benefit the area by promoting local foods and businesses as well as home-grown talent and new performing artists.

 

Consider yourself invited!

 

-The Shazam Tribe

  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Wix Facebook page
  • Wix Twitter page
  • YouTube Classic

"Where the Misfits fit in!"

ShazamFest 2722 chemin de Way's Mills, Barnston Ouest, Québec

La Ferme Shazam

 

Une ferme pionnière dans la production biologique, la Ferme Shazam a

toujours été un lieu où l’on peut discuter et échanger, et mettre en pratique

des nouvelles idées. C’est un environnement où des gens de différentes

cultures visitent pour échanger, travailler ou simplement pour relaxer

au rythme de la campagne. Mais depuis 2006, la Ferme Shazam se fait

connaître dans une autre veine, car il accueille un des festivals les plus

originaux de la province: ShazamFest, créé sous la direction de Ziv Przytyk,

avec l’aide de son frère Sasha.

 

Issus de parenté polonaise et canadienne, les jeunes Przytyk ont grandi sur

cette ferme familiale en Estrie, une région bien connue pour la richesse de

son biculturalisme. Avec leur parents Natasha et Jerzy, en commençant par

l’élevage de chèvres laitières, ils sont passés à la culture de plusieurs types

de légumes exotiques, incluant des patates bleues et éventuellement, du

chanvre. Dans la vingtaine, les frères ont fait comme bien des jeunes de

leur génération, en quittant la région pour étudier et travailler dans des

contrées lointaines tels l’Ouest Canadien et la Pologne.

Cultiver la diversité

Pendant leur absence du Québec, les frères sont devenus de plus en plus actifs dans le domaine de la musique en devenant DJs et promoteurs de musique, tout en poursuivant des carrières connectées à l’agriculture. Cependant, leurs cœurs sont demeurés ancrés dans les Cantons de l’Est, si bien que les frères sont revenus quelques ans plus tard avec leur jeunes familles, ainsi qu’une nouvelle appréciation pour leur région natale. Rapatriés à la communauté Estrienne, ils mijotaient déjà une nouvelle grande ambition : cultiver la culture elle-même, ou plus précisément, organiser une grande fête culturelle!

 

L’idée était de monter un festival en plein air pour mettre en valeur le talent local ou moins connu, ainsi que des artistes multidisciplinaires ; une sorte d'alliage de musique, de théâtre, de cirque, et de camping… Un évènement où des gens de tout âge pourraient profiter d’une fin de semaine de plaisir dans une ambiance carnavalesque. Le ferme familiale était un choix évident pour le futur emplacement du festival : sur ces terres, à quelques minutes de marche de la maisonnée, se trouve une clairière enchantée, maintenant appelée simplement « le site. »

 

Découvrez le site du festival

 

Lorsqu’on emprunte la piste bordée d’arbres qui descend du terrain de camping, et qu’on se retrouve à l’orée de la clairière cachée qui renferme le ShazamFest, on se rend compte que ce magnifique et unique endroit fait partie intégrale de l’expérience du festival.

 

Dissimulée dans une petite vallée et en bordure de la rivière Niger, le site a beaucoup évolué au cours des années, pour prendre l’allure d’un petit village saisonnier. Ce sont les nombreux bénévoles qui ont érigé l’énorme scène principale, utilisant des cèdres coupées sur place. De plus, il y a le rustique mais spacieux Shazam Bar-Saloon avec une deuxième petite scène; le Resto-Cuisine qui offre un choix d’aliments gourmets préparés sur place; le Shazam Burger qui sert du fast-food gourmet digne de ce nom (tout le site est alimenté par son propre système d’eau de source); un tipi et des yourtes, sans oublier le plus gros complexe de rampes de skate en Estrie.

 

Depuis que la famille Przytyk s’est établie à la Ferme Shazam, cet endroit a été utilisé à des fins variés; comme terrain de soccer, pour du camping, des petites fêtes et même des concerts. Mais le site du festival a une histoire intéressante qui débute bien avant notre ère. De fait, ce superbe amphithéâtre naturel sur les berges de la rivière Niger était utilisé, il y a longtemps, comme point de rencontre par les gens des premières nations qui habitaient la région.

 

Réanimer une vieille tradition – tout en créant des traditions nouvelles

 

Un ancien de la tribu des Abénakis visita Shazam un jour et nous raconta que ce même site était jadis un lieu de rassemblement, à la confluence de plusieurs anciennes pistes emprunté par son peuple. Ce fut une révélation pour nous, qui plus que jamais, continue à donner du sens à notre entreprise. Nous voulons honorer cette ancienne tradition de « grand rendez-vous, » en vous offrant de multiples spectacles à ciel ouvert, de la musique diverse, des activités variés, un superbe site incluant un aire de camping et surtout, trois jours de gros « fun » !

 

Un festival écologique

 

La vision de biodiversité de la Ferme Shazam nous inspire à donner un sens écologique au festival, en utilisant des matériaux et des ressources locaux, et en minimisant le gaspillage et les déchets pour garder le site propre et pour éviter de le gâcher pour les futures générations. Nous croyons – et témoignons – qu’il est possible  pour un évènement comme ShazamFest de créer un bénéfice net pour toute la communauté, en supportant des artistes et des commerces de la région.

 

Vous êtes invités à faire partie de l’histoire!

 

La Tribu Shazam           

  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Wix Facebook page
  • Wix Twitter page
  • YouTube Classic

"Where the Misfits fit in!"

ShazamFest 2722 chemin de Way's Mills, Barnston Ouest, Québec